Breastfeeding Carnival: Day 9

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about the importance of breastfeeding. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!
 


 

Breastfeeding and Multiples: No we’re not just talking about twins, triplets, etc. Any way that you breastfeed with multiple children. Maybe you’ve breastfed while trying to conceive, maybe you’ve breastfed while pregnant, maybe you’ve tandem nursed, maybe you’ve just breastfeed a younger child while chasing the older one. How does breastfeeding help you parent? What are the challenges?

I nursed my first child for 28 months, and she is only 26 months older than her younger sister.  Because she was over a year old when I got pregnant, I noticed no change in her nursing desires or ability. By then, she was nursing one-two times per day.  My second child latched on like a pro, and I always suspected it was because I was still nursing her older sister.  Unfortunately, my second child was only 6 months old when I got pregnant with her sister.  My milk production went way, way down.  Because I had read that milk production goes back up in the second trimester, I tried to keep nursing her and nursing her during the first three months trying to get through to that fourth month, but it didn’t work.  She was always hungry, so after two months, I gave her formula.  I tried to keep nursing her at bed time so she would at least have that, but she didn’t want it.  For her, breastfeeding was primarily about food and secondarily about comfort, and she was fine with just being cuddled to sleep without nursing (we bedshared).

 I wish I could have tandem nursed my second and third child, and I’m still sad about that.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Breastfeeding Carnival: Day 9

  1. Pingback: Breastfeeding My Toddler Through Pregnancy | the BREASTFEEDING CAFE

  2. Pingback: How Breastfeeding Through Pregnancy Helps ME « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

  3. Pingback: Natural Urban Mamas » Our version of ‘Milk Sharing’!

Leave a Reply

