Breastfeeding Carnival: Day 7

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about how the mothers before you influenced your choice to breastfeed. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!


Online Breastfeeding: This is the internet age. Many of us log on more than we’d care to admit, but in the case of a new mother that can possibly be a good thing. How did the internet influence your breastfeeding? Did you participate in online forums, Facebook, Twitter, or any other kind of online community? Did this influence your parenting choices? Did these influences help or hinder your efforts?

My online community was an amazing source of help. In 2001, I practically lived on the “Due in December” message boards originally at Epregnancy then moved to Geoparents as the children were born, (which was then was sold to someone else and started sucking).

We were a very close community and it got me through my first full pregnancy with a lot less worry. Any concern I had was a concern from someone else and we all learned what was normal from each other. As an AP mom, I felt a lot of support from other moms out there who also were into Attachment Parenting. I co-slept, and found vindication and support from other bedsharing mamas.

I faded out of the message boards after a while, and didn’t get back into the online community until the birth of my fourth baby and my discover of Twitter. In some ways, better than the message boards for immediate conversation (though I love the fact that you can go back and read specific responses to specific questions on a message board). I’m pretty sure if I had Twitter way-back-when, I would have tried homebirth! The support from other mothers is amazing.

 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

1 Comment

Filed under breastfeeding

One response to “Breastfeeding Carnival: Day 7

  1. Pingback: Breastfeeding Online | the BREASTFEEDING CAFE

Leave a Reply

