Breastfeeding Carnival: Special Circumstances

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on The Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about Birth Experiences and Breastfeeding. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!

I’m lucky to have not had to nurse in too many special circumstances. No preemies, no illnesses or food allergies. I’ve had to express milk when out of town for a day, but not much more than a typical work day. What I have done, though, is nurse a newborn and a toddler!

With my first baby, my supply was always an issue. I produced JUST enough and never had a single ounce to spare. When my husband spilled a bag of milk, I cried. When I found out I was pregnant, Molly was already down to only nursing in the evening and before bed. I continued nursing her because I wanted to “use” her to increase my supply. My plan was to nurse the newborn, than nurse Molly, and I did that. I would nurse the baby, then when Morgan was asleep, I’d nurse Molly. Molly loved that more milk had come in and was eager to nurse a lot. However, she went from nursing for 5 minutes, to 45 minutes! I was spending my entire day nursing! Finally, I weaned Molly from the breast and was down to just one again, but it was definitely worth it. I pumped 12 ounces a session with Morgan, and could waste a bag without crying. Totally worth the peace of mind.

I’m proud to say that my experience nursing a newborn and a toddler gave my sister-in-law the courage to stand up to those of her friends that said she couldn’t do it.
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

3 Comments

Filed under breastfeeding

3 responses to “Breastfeeding Carnival: Special Circumstances

  1. Pingback: No Dairy, Eggs, Soy, Peanuts, or Tree Nuts « the BREASTFEEDING CAFE

  2. Pingback: Breastfeeding Twins: What I Wish I’d Known « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

  3. theadventuresoflactatinggirl

    I wish I would have had a toddler to increase my supply! Guess I’ll probably have that one day though. 😛

Leave a Reply

