Laid off

It’s been a long time since I posted. In March, I was laid off. I knew that cuts were a possibility. They were mentioned months earlier. I asked point blank about my job and my staff’s job and was told we would not be cut. Our office was too small to sustain cuts. In Mid February, I was told the same thing. There was nothing to cut from my budget.

One day, I was at home for my lunch break. DH had an appointment with his cardiologist to schedule his pacemaker to be implanted, and I came home to watch the kids during the appointment. I nursed Lucas, then played with him. Someone rang the doorbell. I don’t usually answer the door, but I got up to see who it was. I saw it was the HR Director “Geoffrey.” What th-? I was puzzled. Why was he here? I put Lucas down and opened the door. I saw an envelope in his hands, and another HR person standing a few feet behind him. She was not looking in my direction. As soon as I saw the envelope, I knew I was being let go. Fired. I felt instantly sick. He said something, but I didn’t hear him. “Did I do something wrong?” I asked. “No, it’s just the budget. There were ten other people affected. It’s all in the letter.” “Can I go to work and get my stuff?” “Yes.”

As soon as I closed the door, I was nearly hysterical. I am the sole supporter of four kids. What the heck am I going to do? Fired? (technically laid-off, but it feels like being fired). I called Joe over and over. Of course, he wasn’t answering the phone. I needed to talk to him. Lucas was upset that I was upset, but I couldn’t stop crying. I didn’t really read the letter. I saw that I got 30 days notice, but I would be paid admin leave for those 30 days. That’s it. No severance. I read about other people who get severance packages. Not here. Just a cold letter.

When Joe got home, I went to work and packed my office as quickly as I could. I wanted out of there. I ran into my boss when I turned in my key. Keeping my wits about me, I said that I understood his decision and such because I wanted to get a good reference. When I came home, I applied for a job that was open and got it sent in that day. I started calling people I know to let them know I was looking for work. I cried and cried, too. If I let myself think about it, I cry about it now, but I rarely let myself think about it.

I set a goal to apply for one job a week, and I met that goal, but I spent most of my time looking for work. Once I went through dozens of sites, I had to go back through them in case anything new posted. It was tiresome.

Now, although I got the first job I applied for but it pays half of what I was making, I am going on interview after interview. I manage to get through the panel interviews, but that’s it. I’ve made it to the top 4, the top 3, the top 2, but still waiting for that top 1.

1 Comment

Filed under unemployed

One response to “Laid off

  1. That truely sucks. I am so sorry that you are going through this. I was laied off by my comp,any years ago and it is like a punch in the gut. I was rehired 6 months later when their budget improved but now things are so bad that they just closed an office and today the HR lady (our only HR) was let go! All iwe can do is keep my fingers crossed & hope the economy improves quickly. I hope you get a better job soon. ((Hugs))

Leave a Reply

