Breastfeeding Carnival: Day 5

Welcome to The Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival!

This post was written as part of The Breastfeeding Cafe’s Carnival. For more info on the Breastfeeding Cafe, go to www.breastfeedingcafe.wordpress.com. For more info on the Carnival or if you want to participate, contact Claire at clindstrom2 {at} gmail {dot} com. Today’s post is about how the mothers before you influenced your choice to breastfeed. Please read the other blogs in today’s carnival listed below and check back for more posts July 18th through the 31st!


Nursing in Public: What are your views on breastfeeding in public? How do you feel a mother breastfeeding in public influences others in public? Do you feel breastfeeding in public helps to normalize breastfeeding?

All mothers should breastfeed in public. It definitely influences people. Yes, a lot of people get offended, but a lot of people don’t. I think nursing in public is best for the children, so they grow up seeing it and thinking it’s normal.

I nursed my then-11 month old at a birthday party I attended for a kindergartner. There were a lot of children around. I pulled a chair off to the side in some shade to feed my baby. Some of the kids came around and asked what I was doing. I told them I was feeding the baby. One said that her mom “doesn’t do that. She just uses a bottle.” I said some moms use a bottle, and some do this. She went on her way to play in the bounce house. One of the grandma’s approached me and said that she loved that I was breastfeeding. She was from another country. I find most of my positive reactions have been from people from other countries who are happy to see and American woman breastfeeding.

My daughter’s teacher had a baby just before the end of the school year, and returned to work for the last two weeks. They allowed her to bring the baby with her, and she nursed the baby in class. I thought that was fantastic! Imagine all children seeing breastfeeding. When they are grown, it won’t seem icky or gross. It will be something normal!

 


 
Here are more post by the Breastfeeding Cafe Carnival participants! Check back because more will be added throughout the day.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Breastfeeding Carnival: Day 5

  1. Pingback: Breastfeeding is Not Taboo | the BREASTFEEDING CAFE

  2. Pingback: Breastfeeding In Public « Mommy News and Views Blog

  3. Pingback: How It Should Be « The Adventures of Lactating Girl

  4. Pingback: Breastfeeding In Public Is Good for Society | Motherhood: Deconstructed

  5. Pingback: NIP by NUM « Natural Urban Mama

  6. I love how matter of fact and nonchalant little kids can be when they encounter a breastfeeding pair. Many adults could learn from them :)

  7. Wow! I’m so excited to hear that a school let the teacher breastfeed in class. What a great thing for the kids.

  8. Motherhood: Deconstructed

    Awesome! I love it when I am able to positively influence children. Even if they choose not to breastfeed as adults, it is beneficial for them to see it done so that they won’t judge the mothers who do breastfeed!

  9. That is sooooooooo cool about your daughter’s teacher! Kudos to her, and to the school who let her bring her baby to work!! What a powerful way to send a message to young children that mommy and baby belong together and that breast is best!!

Leave a Reply

